Closing conversations is an essential step that is not to be overlooked. At the end of each conversation, consider closing and qualifying your exchange.
1. Close a conversation
Once the exchange is done with your visitor, it is necessary to close the conversation so that agents can start a new one.
Once you close the conversation, visitors are warned of the end of the conversation and the chat window is automatically reduced.
You can close a conversation by clicking on the close icon of the conversation in the toolbar on the right:
Once you do this, a window appears no matter if you use the Desktop or Mobile application and allows you to perform certain actions before permanently closing the exchange.
If, despite your action, the conversation doesn't seem to be closed, refresh the page to resolve the problem. Your manager can also close the conversation from the administration page.
NB: it is not possible to reopen a closed conversation on the agent's side. If your visitor writes a new message, this will generate a new conversation.
1.1 Qualify the conversation
It may be interesting to qualify your conversations to be able to later extract statistics based on topics covered in your exchanges. For example, you can know the average handling time of exchanges concerning your after-sales service.
You can add a new qualification tag at this stage or use an existing tag from the drop-down menu (1).
If the available tags are mapped to conversation categories, the most relevant ones are recommended at the top of the tags list.
Display on Desktop:
Display on the Mobile:
1.2 Add a conversation endnote
In addition to qualification, you can add a conversation endnote (2) in the Comments field. This is an open comment about your exchange. This field is only offered for conversations held on your website.
You can then find the note in the conversation details, from Reports > Conversations, Context section, Comments line.
1.3 Options
- Transfer the history of the conversation and the associated note by selecting the option "Send by email" (4) and entering the recipient's e-mail address.
- If you have installed our Zendesk plugin, an option can be visible to save the chat history in Zendesk.
Before ending a social conversation, you can tag the conversation using conversation types.
For a conversation from the "Social" channel (Messenger, Facebook, WhatsApp, etc.), the toolbar on the right offers two buttons in particular: (1) "Snooze" and (2) "End", which opens the End chat window.
- (1) When you click "Snooze", you consider that the conversation is not over and that the visitor still has to reply to your last messages
- (2) When you click "End" then "End chat", the chat window disappears from your panel and does not come back automatically. Thus, this conversation is taken into account in your iAdvize reports.
It is possible to consult the conversation history of the "Social" channel, via the "Conversations" section.
Messages will appear in the history when closed. There are two kinds of closing contact:
-
Natural closure: the conversation is closed automatically after 7 days without a new message and then appears in the conversation history.
- Manual closure: the agent can close the conversation.